Splunk Search

Compare and show the difference of two events

Patrick91
Engager

Hello Splunkers,

I'm very new to Splunk and I cannot seem to get the data that I want.

I want to perform a search that compares 2 events. The events have the same field "Severity".
I want the search result showing me what the difference is between the 2 events. If it is possible showing me what lines are different

The events are coming form 2 different hosts but in the same index. The events are almost identical but there are some differences.

Here is an example of a event:
5593CF4E.0000-13: .cpp,336,"setError")
+5593CF4E.0000 Error Type= CTX_MetafileNotfound

+5593CF4E.0000 Severity= CTX_Warning

+5593CF4E.0000 Native Error Code = 0

+5593CF4E.0000 SQL State= NULL

+5593CF4E.0000 Reason Code= 0

+5593CF4E.0000 executing: openMetaFile
(5593CF4E.0001-13:khdxbase.cpp,339,"setError")
+5593CF4E.0001 ERROR MESSAGE: "Unable to open Metafile *

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

This should work (assuming you have field extractions working:

... | stats dc(*) AS DC_* values(*) AS * by Severity | foreach DC_* [eval <<MATCHSTR>> = if((<<FIELD>> > 1), <<MATCHSTR>>, null())] | fields - DC_*

View solution in original post

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

This should work (assuming you have field extractions working:

... | stats dc(*) AS DC_* values(*) AS * by Severity | foreach DC_* [eval <<MATCHSTR>> = if((<<FIELD>> > 1), <<MATCHSTR>>, null())] | fields - DC_*

Patrick91
Engager

It did not seem to work. But I tried it with _raw instead of Severity and it seemed to work. So I guess my field extraction did not work.

I tried it by selecting an event and then selecting the Severity but I get this massage:
The extraction failed. If you are extracting multiple fields, try removing one or more fields. Start with extractions that are embedded within longer text strings.

So I tried it using settings > Fields > new. But i guess the extraction is not working.