Getting Data In

After using outputcsv in a Splunk search, where is this CSV file located?

asarran
Path Finder

Hey Splunkers

I'm new to Splunk and I'm having issues attempting to export a search results to a CSV file.

<MY SEARCH> | outputcsv  mycsvfilename

The trouble I'm having is the ability to locate the CSV file on my desktop. I can't find the file. The assumption is that the file is being sent somewhere else? I'm curious if anyone has ever encountered a problem similar to this before.

Thank You,

Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Raghav2384
Motivator

Hello @asarran,

Please take a look : https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.4.2/SearchReference/Outputcsv

If you have Splunk Enterprise, this command saves search results to the specified CSV file on the local search-head in the $SPLUNK_HOME/var/run/splunk/csv directory. Updates to $SPLUNK_HOME/var/run/*.csv using the outputcsv command are not replicated across the cluster.

You can then add that csv back as a lookup or monitoring that directory for *.csv if outputcsv is something you use very often. Hope this helps

Hope this Helps!

Thanks,
Raghav

View solution in original post

Raghav2384
Motivator

Hello @asarran,

Please take a look : https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.4.2/SearchReference/Outputcsv

If you have Splunk Enterprise, this command saves search results to the specified CSV file on the local search-head in the $SPLUNK_HOME/var/run/splunk/csv directory. Updates to $SPLUNK_HOME/var/run/*.csv using the outputcsv command are not replicated across the cluster.

You can then add that csv back as a lookup or monitoring that directory for *.csv if outputcsv is something you use very often. Hope this helps

Hope this Helps!

Thanks,
Raghav

asarran
Path Finder