Deployment Architecture

How to get a list of search heads in my Splunk environment?

GeoCouloute
Engager

Hi,

I am relatively new to Splunk and I would like to know how to find out what are the number of "Search Heads" on my Splunk environment. I am sure there is a query that will display t his information. Any assistance on how to accomplish this would be a great help. I look forward to your response.

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

jowenssi
Path Finder

The easiest/quickest way would be to identify the instances running a Job Scheduler. Depending on the configuration of the distributed environment, this could return Indexers or instances with other Splunk roles that run jobs. This query also assumes that all of your logs are being forwarded to the Indexers.

index=_internal sourcetype=scheduler

You could then run this REST search on the instances to identify if the Splunk role is set as a Search Head:

| rest splunk_server=local /services/server/info | table serverName server_roles

View solution in original post

0 Karma

PowerPacked
Builder

Hi @GeoCouloute

if you have newer version of splunk 7.1.1
you can see a new option in settings --- search head clustering -- from there you can see the list of all search heads in the cluster.

from CLI you can also execute the query ./splunk show shcluster-status --- to see the list of all search heads incuding the captain in the cluster.

Thanks

0 Karma

ddrillic
Ultra Champion

If you have access to the Monitoring Console, it would show you the Search Heads, Indexers and more....

0 Karma

jowenssi
Path Finder

This is true, but only if the environment is configured correctly. The rest call below will display the same role information.

0 Karma

jowenssi
Path Finder