Dashboards & Visualizations

Manipulating time token with a comparison in dashboard

Shahindoh
Explorer

Hi there,

I'm quite new to Splunk so sorry in advance if I'm asking a silly question.
I'm trying to modify token selected by user with time picker earliest / latest to have -5 days / +5 days that I'm then using in epoch format in my search combined with info-min-time / info_max_time.

So far, following other topics and knowledge base I've been able to get it down, except when the user selects "All time" in time picker which ends up having a earliest token with a negative value.

I'm doing the following at the beginning of my dashboard and then using TimeRange.earliest_epoch / TimeRange.latest_epoch in my panels.

<input type="time" token="TimeRange">
      <label>TimeRange</label>
      <default>
        <earliest>0</earliest>
        <latest></latest>
      </default>
      <change>
        <eval token="TimeRange.earliest_epoch">if(isnum('earliest'),'earliest',relative_time(now(),'earliest')-432000</eval>
                <eval token="TimeRange.latest_epoch">if(isnum('latest'),'latest',relative_time(now(),'latest')+432000</eval>
      </change>
    </input>

I added a table panel to display the values of the tokens to see what's happening exactly :

<row>
    <panel>
      <table>
        <title>testDates</title>
        <search>
          <query>| makeresults 
| eval StartTimestamp0="$TimeRange.earliest$"
| eval StartTimestamp1=$TimeRange.earliest_epoch$
| eval starttime=strftime(StartTimestamp1,"%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S.%Q")</query>
          <earliest>$TimeRange.earliest$</earliest>
          <latest>$TimeRange.latest$</latest>
        </search>
        <option name="drilldown">none</option>
        <option name="refresh.display">progressbar</option>
      </table>
    </panel>
  </row>

No surprise, when selecting "All time" it gave me :

StartTimestamp0 = 0

StartTimestamp1 = -432000

Which is making my subsequent searchs in panels to fail.