Splunk Search

find all events of type X that do not have an event of type Y within 1 minute on either side

noah10
Explorer

I'm new to Splunk and trying to figure out how to find all events of type X that do NOT have an event of type Y within 1 minute (before or after) of them. I found http://answers.splunk.com/answers/137069/find-all-events-not-having-a-corresponding-event-matched-by... , but in my case the events have nothing to correlate them except for time, and I haven't been able to adapt the answer for that question to my case. Any suggestions about the best way to accomplish such a search?

Tags (2)
1 Solution

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

OK, I realized that I forgot to discriminate one more time once I find values in the map. This will work for sure:

eventtype=type_y
| streamstats current=f window=1 max(_time) as prevTime
| eval myTime=_time
| eval delta=myTime-prevTime
| where delta>120
| map maxsearches=10000 search="search eventtype=type_x earliest=$prevTime$ latest=$myTime$
| eval lowDelta=_time-$prevTime$
| eval highDelta=$mYtime$-_time
| where lowDelta>60 highDelta>60"

View solution in original post

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Ah, never mind: map uses subsearch, too!

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

OK, I think I have it. I had to turn your question inside out and do a search that asks, "Find type_y events that are at least 2 minutes apart and show any type_x events between them". In other words, you asked your question backwards!
Try this:

eventtype=type_y 
| streamstats max(_time) as prevTime 
| eval myTime=_time 
| eval delta=myTime-prevTime 
| where delta <= 120 
| map maxsearches=10000 search="search eventtype=type_x _time<=$prevTime$ _time>=$mYtime$"
0 Karma

noah10
Explorer

Hmmm... I'm not sure this formulation is equivalent. Consider this example:

10:19:19 type_x
10:22:08 type_x
10:22:47 type_y
10:29:03 type_x
10:37:14 type_x