Splunk Search

How to modify my search in order to create stacked bar chart that shows errors, exceptions, or timeouts?

Kumar1980

HI ,

I am new to using Splunk Enterprise and not so familiar with the search strings and other stuff 🙂

here is my requirement :

search the logs for errors/exceptions/timeout/etc... and display it as a stacked bar view with color code

example: error - Red exception - green etc...

Y axis should have the count and X - axis should have source type

the resulting bar representation should show error/exception etc .. in stacked form with different colors, once we click on colors it should take us to the corresponding logs with the specific error/exception etc ...

Here is the search string :

index=**  host=* source=logs AND ("ERROR" OR "exception" OR "timeout") | TOP sourcetype 

please suggest as this is something important for my ongoing project

0 Karma
1 Solution

sundareshr
Legend

Try this

index=**  host=* source=logs AND ("ERROR" OR "exception" OR "timeout") | rex "(?<err>ERROR|exception|timeout)" | chart count over host by err usenull=f

View solution in original post

0 Karma

sundareshr
Legend

Try this

index=**  host=* source=logs AND ("ERROR" OR "exception" OR "timeout") | rex "(?<err>ERROR|exception|timeout)" | chart count over host by err usenull=f
0 Karma

Kumar1980

Thanks Sundaresh,

This is getting me results but they are partial only

i can see a stacked bar with two colors, one of which is errors/exceptions (Bluish color) and the other is an orange/yellowish color which says null and clicking on it leads no where

Y axis should show the count and the stacked bar should have errors/exceptions/timeout etc... stacked with different colors

Unable to attach an image which represents this idea , which would have given a clear picture

Please suggest the changes to complete this 🙂 Thanks for your help

• Praneeth
0 Karma

sundareshr
Legend