Splunk Search

How do I write the regex to extract all instances of this field from unstructured data?

sushmitha_mj
Communicator

This is the first time I am using IFE and having some difficulty extracting data. I am not good at regex, so I used the Interactive Field Extractor to extract the field.

I have the string trans(1234) in the records. I am creating a field Trans - this field is storing the number inside the brackets as the value. In this case, Value is 1234. I have multiple such trans(####) vales in one entry. Splunk is identifying just the first occurring such trans(value) in each record. Is there a way to identify all of the different trans() in each event as a separate entry?

Also is there a good documentation with examples on how to write rex for beginners?

0 Karma
1 Solution

sundareshr
Legend

IFX does not do well with regex and particularly with multi-value fields. Try this in your search instead

.... | rex max_match=0 "trans\((?<trans>\d+)\)" | table trans

View solution in original post

sundareshr
Legend

IFX does not do well with regex and particularly with multi-value fields. Try this in your search instead

.... | rex max_match=0 "trans\((?<trans>\d+)\)" | table trans

sushmitha_mj
Communicator

Do you suggest I use this expression in the "write your own regular expression section inside the Extract fields?

When I write it as a query it works but inside the extract fields regex it does not work....

0 Karma

sushmitha_mj
Communicator

If I put this on the regex part : trans((?\d+)) It identifies the first trans id in each event. How can I extract all the trans as a separate field? I am unable to specify max_match =0.

0 Karma

sundareshr
Legend

In the transforms, you need to use MV_ADD=true

MV_ADD = [true|false]
* NOTE: This attribute is only valid for search-time field extractions.
* Optional. Controls what the extractor does when it finds a field which already exists.