Splunk Search

Converting index query to data model query

north_star
Loves-to-Learn

I have tried to simplify the query for better understanding and removing some unnecessary things.

This query is to find out if the same malware has been found on more than 4 hosts (dest) in a given time span, something like a malware outbreak.

Below is the indexed based query that works fine. I am trying to convert this to a data model based query, but not getting the desired results. I am new to writing data model based queries. Thanks for all the help!

(`cim_Malware_indexes`) tag=malware tag=attack

| eval grouping_signature=if(isnotnull(file_name),signature . ":" . file_name,signature) => trying to create a new field called "grouping_signature" by concatenating signature and file_name fields

| stats count dc(dest) as infected_device_count BY grouping_signature => trying to calculate the distinct count of hosts the have the same malware found on them by "grouping_signature" field

| where infected_device_count > 4 => trying to find events where number of infected devices is greater than 4

| stats sum(count) AS "count" sum(infected_device_count) AS infected_device_count BY grouping_signature => trying to find the total number of infected hosts by "grouping_signature" field

Labels (4)
0 Karma

north_star
Loves-to-Learn

Ok, I have tried to simplify the query for better understanding and removing some unnecessary things.

This query is to find out if the same malware has been found on more than 4 hosts (dest) in a given time span, something like a malware outbreak.

Below is the indexed based query that works fine. I am trying to convert this to a data model based query.

(`cim_Malware_indexes`) tag=malware tag=attack

| eval grouping_signature=if(isnotnull(file_name),signature . ":" . file_name,signature) => trying to create a new field called "grouping_signature" by concatenating signature and file_name fields