Splunk Search

Compare fields without wildcards

quangnm21
Explorer

Hello everyone, I'm a beginner in using Splunk. I'm facing an issue in finding a search solution for the following idea: I'm logging the deletion behavior of files, and I have whitelisted some important files in a lookup. If the file_path in the event matches any of the file_paths in my lookup file, then it should produce a result.

quangnm21_0-1703690865476.png

Here is the initial search, and it found 2 file_paths.

quangnm21_1-1703690928479.png

This is my lookup file.

quangnm21_2-1703690965454.png

Here is my search, but it's not working correctly.

Thank you, everyone, for reading!

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

dtburrows3
Builder

You should be able to set up "Match Type" configuration under advanced settings when defining a lookup definition for your CSV.

dtburrows3_0-1703692114980.png

Example of its usage on my local instance

dtburrows3_1-1703692160205.png

SPL used to simulate (you would need to insert your file_paths in the evals to test this)

| makeresults
    | eval
        file_path="/opt/splunk/etc/apps/custom_app/metadata/local.meta"
    | append
        [
            | makeresults
                | eval
                    file_path="/opt/splunk/etc/apps/custom_app/metadata/default.meta"
            ]

| lookup file_deleted file_path OUTPUT file_path as deleted_path

```
    | where isnotnull(deleted_path)
    ```

View solution in original post

dtburrows3
Builder

You should be able to set up "Match Type" configuration under advanced settings when defining a lookup definition for your CSV.

dtburrows3_0-1703692114980.png

Example of its usage on my local instance

dtburrows3_1-1703692160205.png

SPL used to simulate (you would need to insert your file_paths in the evals to test this)

| makeresults
    | eval
        file_path="/opt/splunk/etc/apps/custom_app/metadata/local.meta"
    | append
        [
            | makeresults
                | eval