Security

Confusion about setting up data model acceleration

munang
Path Finder

Hello. I'm a Splunk newbie.

There is confusion about setting up data model acceleration.

According to the official documentation, if the data in your data model is out of date, Splunk will continuously delete it and keep the data in your data model up to date.

So, for example, if you summarize a month's data model in 0 12 * * *cycles,

1. -30 to 0 days data summarized
2. Day after day
3. Data from day -29 to +1 is summarized.
4. -30 days data is deleted

Is this process correct?

If this process is correct, why is it being done this way?

And, information summarized through data model acceleration

Is there a way to keep them consecutively like a summary index without them being deleted?

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Yes. Bucketing data works like it does with normal events within the index. The whole bucket is rolled when the _most recent_ event in the bucket is older than the retention period for the index - that's why you can have data older than retention period in your index. Here it works the same way - if your bucket "overlaps" the boundary of the summary range, the whole bucket will be available.

View solution in original post

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The overall idea is more or less correct but the details are a bit more complicated than that.

1. The summary-building search is spawned according to schedule and builds the summary data similarily to writing indexed fields when ingesting data (in fact accelerated summaries are stored the same way it .tsidx files as indexed fields are).

2. The accelerated summaries are stored in buckets, corresponding with buckets of raw data.

3. The old buckets are not removed by the summary-building process but - as far as I remember - by the housekeeper thread (the same that is responsible for rolling event buckets).