Getting Data In

What is the process that I should follow to build an add-on from scratch ?

RS001

Hello, I am new to Splunk and I would like to build an add-on that gets the data and performs a function on a column that we choose ( for example: adding a value ). I don't know from where I should start and what to do so any help would be appreciated.

0 Karma

alacercogitatus
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

If you can, join us on IRC, #splunk on efnet.org, and we can go over exactly what you are looking for in real-time and see if we can help point you in the right direction.

bwooden
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Based on clarifications added since this was posted, I recommend indexing this data "as is". Splunk's search language is powerful and visualizations are easy to create. The advantage of indexing the data "as is" and performing the calculations at search time is that you can change the calculations whenever you want, without needing to re-index the data. You could then have different panels displaying different visualizations and/or using different calculations from the same base search.

mreynov_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

if you do end up developing an add-on, then look into using EVAL (see more here: http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/admin/Propsconf).

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Based on your clarification (ask a question better and you get better answers):

What I want is to build an add-on that before data indexing gets the values of a certain column and for example multiplies that column value by 100 .

You need to do something very similar to anonymize which you can read about here:

http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Data/Anonymizedatausingconfigurationfiles#Anonymi...

So you could do something like this:

SEDCMD-multiply_field_x_by_100 = s/x=(\d+)/x=\100/
0 Karma

RS001

Thank you for your answer. So to make things clear, this is what I want :