Getting Data In

Blacklist Event IDs

aihwab1
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Hi all,

I'm new to the back-end configuration of Splunk and I've recently taken over a Splunk instance and I've been tasked with tidying it up a bit. The first thing I noticed is that there is a lot of noise coming in from event ID 5156. So I would like to blacklist this particular ID from coming in.

As my knowledge is somewhat limited to this, the environment has one Heavy Forwarder, and 3 indexers clustered together. When I try to read the configuration of the Universal Forwarder on the Domain Controller there is no outputs.conf in the C:\Program Files\SplunkUniversalForwarder\etc\system\local directory, so I don't know with assurance where the events are being sent.

We have the Splunk Add-on for Microsoft Windows enabled on the HF, indexers and search head. However, I have only made changes to the inputs.conf located in /opt/splunk/etc/apps/splunk_ta_win/local on the HF. I've added the following line:
blacklist3 = EventCode="5156" Message="Object Type:(?!\s*groupPolicyContainer)" as blacklist1 and blacklist2 were already present and I couldn't return a search for these events (Meaning they're being filtered), I also restarted the Splunk service.

I've just run a search for the past few hours and I'm still seeing 5156 come through. Am I doing anything wrong, or do I need to perhaps make the config changes on the Indexers as well? Currently the config for security index looks like this:

[WinEventLog://Security]
disabled = 0
start_from = oldest
current_only = 0
evt_resolve_ad_obj = 1
checkpointInterval = 5
blacklist1 = EventCode="4662" Message="Object Type:(?!\s*groupPolicyContainer)"
blacklist2 = EventCode="566" Message="Object Type:(?!\s*groupPolicyContainer)"
blacklist3 = EventCode="5156" Message="Object Type:(?!\s*groupPolicyContainer)"
renderXml=true