Deployment Architecture

Multi-Site Cluster Administration Questions.

TheColorBlack
Path Finder

Evening Splunk Community,

I'm a new Splunk administrator (<6MO) and I have a couple of questions I could really use your help finding the solutions to. Over the past several months my team and I have been working to lift and shift our production environments hosted in physical data centers up to AWS.

We use AWS Cloudformation to spin up these environments from top to bottom. Ideally with as little manual work as possible. Ultimately I'm having trouble finding solutions on how to keep my Splunk deployment and configurations data-center agnostic as possible to achieve this goal.

We currently have the following multi-site architecture deployed in AWS. Each Region consists of 2 primary VPCs, a production app VPC, and a shared services VPC. With the exception of some heavy forwarders the Splunk infrastructure in these environments is housed in the shared services VPC:

• Region A (Active):
    • 1x Standalone Search Head
    • 1x Combined Deployment Server / License Server / Monitoring Console
    • 1x Cluster Master
    • 3x Clustered Indexers (Clustered with region B for event replication)
    • 4x Load Balanced Syslog-NG Collectors / Heavy Forwarder Combo
  • Region B (Failover):
    • 1x Standalone Search Head (Offline unless needed)
    • 1x Combined Deployment Server / License Server / Monitoring Console (Offline unless needed)
    • 1x Cluster Master (Offline Unless Needed)
    • 3x Clustered Indexers (Clustered with region A for event replication)
    • 4x Load Balanced Syslog-NG Collectors / Heavy Forwarder Combo

Here are my questions:

1. Our environment architect would prefer that there are no external dependencies in our production app tier. Currently the heavy forwarders in my app tier communicate to the primary cluster master to receive a list of available indexers to output their events to.