Dashboards & Visualizations

How to iterate through values of a field and combine values of other fields respectively?

SPulse
Explorer

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Splunk. I've been trying to do this on my own, but can't seem to iterate through this inputlookup table. Your help would be super helpful! Thank you for your help!

I currently have an inputlookup table that looks like:

Data   | Connected_Data     | Data_count
  D1     | D2 D10 D5          | 5 20 3
  D2     | D1 D3              | 5 10 
  D3     | D2 D5              | 10 ...

I would like to make a table of all the Connected_Data that Data is connected to:

Therefore, if D1 is connected to D2 ,D10, D5 and consequentially D2 is connected to D1, D3, Then, since we want to see all the data that's connected, even remotely, to each of the Data values: the table will look like:

Data | first_conn   | second_conn                      | third_conn            | ... 
D1    | D2 D10 D5   | X(D1)X,D3,                       | X(D2)X, X(D5)X
                    |(D10's Connected_Data),           | 
                    |(D5's Connected_Data)
D2    |D1, D3       | X(D2)X, D10, D5,                 | (D10's Connected_Data),
      |             | X(D2)X, X(D5)X                   | (D5's Connected_Data)

Here, please note, that there are X's around certain Connected_Data values, such as in D1's row: D1, D2, D5 have X's around it. This is because they are values that have already been visited. D1 is the node that we are exploring, D2 and D5 have already been visited in the first_conn, so we ignore it in the third_conn. We don't want these repeated values that have X's around them in the final values.

Since we want only the distinct values of Data that are connected (i.e. the union set), we ignore the repeated values.

I would like to finally have a table that is:

Data  | All_Connected_Data
    D1    | D2, D10, D5, D3 ...
    D2    | D1, D3, D10, D5 ...