Splunk Search

split string with square brackets into individual fields

plcd63
Explorer

Hello,

I'm new to Splunk and I'm looking for some advice.

My search, e.g.

<mysearch> | table attributes

returns a value in the following format:

name[test 1]srcintf[int1]dstintf[int2]srcaddr[address1]dstaddr[dest1 dest2]service[svc1 svc2 svc3]comments[test comment here]

I would like to split the output into individual fields. The values are within square brackets, i.e.

nametest 1
srcintfint1
dstintfint2

Many thanks!

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
| rex "name\[(?<name>[^\]]*)]srcintf\[(?<srcintf>[^\]]*)]dstintf\[(?<dstintf>[^\]]*)]srcaddr\[(?<srcaddr>[^\]]*)]dstaddr\[(?<dstaddr>[^\]]*)]service\[(?<service>[^\]]*)]comments\[(?<comments>[^\]]*)]"

View solution in original post

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
| rex "name\[(?<name>[^\]]+)]srcintf\[(?<srcintf>[^\]]+)]dstintf\[(?<dstintf>[^\]]+)]srcaddr\[(?<srcaddr>[^\]]+)]dstaddr\[(?<dstaddr>[^\]]+)]service\[(?<service>[^\]]+)]comments\[(?<comments>[^\]]+)]"

plcd63
Explorer

Thank you! This works, unless one of the fields is empty, e.g. comments[], which is very likely to happen on some of them, depending on the user input provided.

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
| rex "name\[(?<name>[^\]]*)]srcintf\[(?<srcintf>[^\]]*)]dstintf\[(?<dstintf>[^\]]*)]srcaddr\[(?<srcaddr>[^\]]*)]dstaddr\[(?<dstaddr>[^\]]*)]service\[(?<service>[^\]]*)]comments\[(?<comments>[^\]]*)]"

plcd63
Explorer

To take this step further, could I also use rex if not every time all of the values are part of the reported field?

e.g. my 1st search might return:

name[test 1]srcaddr[address1]

my second search:

nsrcintf[int1]dstintf[int2]srcaddr[address1]comments[test comment here]

my third search:

comments[test comment here]

etc...

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust