Splunk Search

Why is my search returning a log response value that is truncated after the boolean string "true" in my sample response?

psable
Explorer

Hi,

I am very new to Splunk and am trying to get all the fields in response. One of the fields is actually a JSON string with a structure similar to this:

2016-06-17 09:16:17,899 [-] [HttpClientWorker-12]  INFO SERVICE_LOGGER To: http://www.w3.org/2005/08/addressing/anonymous|WSAction: |SOAPAction: |log_uid = 1234|log_Response = {"resultCode":true,"score":{"-- rest of the response here...

I am trying to fetch the response field for log_Response above with a search to show me all the fields in tabular format:

index=pi* host="ServerName" "log_Response" "log_uid" | table log_Response

The above search only returns a string for log_Response until 'true' string in response and rest of the string content is missing. i.e.

Response in table:

{"resultCode":true   // rest of the content missing

Does anyone know what the issue could be? There are other req/resp for other services which work fine, but this is the only one that has this truncation issue, and I think it's because of the boolean value in the response log.

Thank you!

0 Karma
1 Solution

somesoni2
Revered Legend

The default field extraction (of kv pair) will terminate at first space/comma which is what it's doing it here. You probably would need to setup some custom search time field extract to get the full value in log_Response field. We can help you will regex if you can provide a full events (mask sensitive data). Meanwhile give this a try

index=pi host="ServerName" "log_Response" "log_uid" | rex "log_Response=(?<log_Response>.+)$" | table log_Response

View solution in original post

somesoni2
Revered Legend