Splunk Search

Calculate a percentage on chart count over some span

nmulm
Explorer

Hi there,

I have response time data in ms in a table field ElTime. I want to band this based on 1000ms second brackets then show the counts in each band and also show the percentage. For some reason I cannot seem to get the percentage working. I have been through several solutions on here, but so far haven't found one covering my scenario. My gut is that this should be an easy one but I can't get it working.

My basic query is ~

| chart count over ElTime span=1000 |sort -ElTime

I've tried a few things nothing which I can get to work e.g.

| eventstats count as total | chart count over EntsBWElapTime span=1000,eval Percent=(count/total)*100

Sry total newbie struggling to make this work!

The results I would hope to get would be like ~

Elapsed Time (ms) Count Percentage
0 1602364 99.82%
1000 1938 0.12%
2000 199 0.01%

Any pointers are much appreciated, I would also be interested in a solution that would allow defined bands rather than just steps e.g. 0-250ms,251-500 etc etc.

N

Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Try this:

... | eval ElapsedTime = case (EITime<=250, "0-250", EITime<=500, "251-500", EITime<=750, "501-750", EITime<=1000, "751-1000", 1==1, "1000+") | top limit=0 ElapsedTime

View solution in original post

0 Karma

fdi01
Motivator

try like this:

...| eventstats count as total| bucket _time span=1000ms | stats count by "EntsBWElapTime" |eval Percent=(count/total)*100 +"%"

or

...| eventstats count as total | timechart span=1000ms count by EntsBWElapTime |eval Percent=(count/total)*100 +"%" 
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Try this:

... | eval ElapsedTime = case (EITime<=250, "0-250", EITime<=500, "251-500", EITime<=750, "501-750", EITime<=1000, "751-1000", 1==1, "1000+") | top limit=0 ElapsedTime
0 Karma

nmulm
Explorer