Getting Data In

Why is host=myhost giving no results?

iiooiiooiioo
Explorer

Sorry for the complete noob question. But I have had this splunk project dropped on me and I need to spin up fast.

I have added a monitor on "myhost" like so:

[root@myhost bin]# pwd
/apps/splunkforwarder/bin
[root@myhost bin]# ./splunk add monitor /var/log/foo/
Your session is invalid.  Please login.
Splunk username: admin
Password:
Added monitor of '/var/log/foo'.

That was yesterday.

I executed a script that writes data to a log file that is in the /var/log/foo directory on myhost.
But when I execute this search host=myhost I get zero results.

0 Karma

manjunathmeti
Champion

Splunk configures index = default when you add new monitor. And default index is not created in indexer servers. So you need to specify index and sourcetype for your monitor. Edit /apps/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/search/local/inputs.conf and add index and sourcetype like below. Restart splunk forwarder and check data in index=main sourcetype=foo.

[monitor:///var/log/foo/]
index = main
sourcetype = foo

As @woodcock suggested. Instead of updating splunk internal search app it is better to put inputs.conf in your own add-on and deploy it. Move /apps/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/search/local/inputs.conf file to /apps/splunkforwarder/etc/apps/fwd-2-dev-indexers/default/ and restart splunk forwarder.

iiooiiooiioo
Explorer

Here is an update to my original post. Here are the locations of the inputs.conf and outputs.conf file I have on "myhost":

[root@myhost splunkforwarder]# pwd
/apps/splunkforwarder
[root@myhost splunkforwarder]# find . -name inputs.conf
./etc/system/default/inputs.conf
./etc/system/local/inputs.conf
./etc/apps/search/local/inputs.conf
./etc/apps/SplunkUniversalForwarder/default/inputs.conf
./etc/apps/introspection_generator_addon/default/inputs.conf
./etc/apps/splunk_httpinput/default/inputs.conf
[root@myhost splunkforwarder]# find . -name outputs.conf
./etc/system/default/outputs.conf