Getting Data In

Splunk Connect For Syslog - Sending syslog using Kiwi Syslog Message Generator (UDP 514) failed but TCP 514 success

azer271
Explorer

Hello. I am completely new at Splunk. Recently, I've recently taken on a role where I'll be working with Splunk quite a lot. I have a question about SC4S (Splunk Connect For Syslog). I successfully installed the SC4S (podman + systemd) using the guide from this:

https://splunk.github.io/splunk-connect-for-syslog/main/gettingstarted/podman-systemd-general/

The SC4S is installed in Centos 7 VM (in vsphere). The HEC is configured successfully in heavy forwarder and I can successfully see the SC4S is properly communicating with Splunk.

azer271_0-1715008046922.png

After that, I used Kiwi Syslog Message Generator from my windows 10 machine to send a syslog tcp message to the Centos 7 VM.

azer271_1-1715008106499.png

Successful Output (TCP):

azer271_2-1715008125518.png

However, if i sent a syslog udp message, the message was not successfully sent. As shown in the screenshot, the messages sent was zero after i pressed send.

azer271_3-1715008305699.png

Unsuccessful Output (UDP):

azer271_4-1715008356739.png

No new messages were shown in Splunk Web.

514 TCP and UDP is enabled in the firewall in Centos 7. I would like to request assistance about this issue.

Thank you.

Labels (6)
0 Karma
1 Solution

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

First and foremost - verify if:

1) The events are generated at the source machine at all - run a wireshark there and see if the packets appear on the wire. If not - here's your culprit - troubleshoot your Kiwi.

2) If they are being sent, check with tcpdump on the receiving end.

3) If you can see the packets on the wire, check firewall rules and rp_filter.

View solution in original post

azer271
Explorer